Sunday, 22 January 2012

Work in Progress update, and a diary of a sick night.



Okay lads and lasses, I’m going to do one of those boring blogs I tend to ignore on the internet. You know the type? The one’s that are something like “Today I went to the shop and I bought a mars bar and I ate it and it was nice”. I’m going to talk a little bit a bout Work In Progress, and a little bit about last nights relatively tame awesomeness.

Work in Progress; a work in progress. Part 1.
I suppose this is the first real log of how the EP is going, and for a lot of you, the first time you will have heard in any detail some of the shit I’m putting up with from this recording.
Basically, I am low on money as any student is, so I can’t afford to purchase Logic pro, meaning I’m trying to struggle through garage band (sigh). I have managed to get each track sounding how I want them to, the main problem is arising when I’m actually bouncing the tracks into an audio file format. The volume differs so much between different MP3s it physically angers me to the point of shouting things at my guitar, because that’s obviously where the blame lies.
I have asked people for help on this matter and the biggest answer I got was to re-record the quiet tracks at a louder volume, however doing this has helped less than Gazza with a fishing rod and a KFC bargain bucket.
I’m starting to think that recording in Garage Band is only ever going to end in tears, and that I might unfortunately have to postpone the EP release. I’ll keep you posted on any more details as they come to me.

A relatively sick night, bitches.
So last night, I decided to use my first saturday night off in a while productively, and go to the pub. After the ravaging Newcastle took at the hands of Fulham I think I needed a pint.
As always I asked a few of my mates to come out, and as always it ended up being me and Joe (who I’m sure will crop up in this blog several times).
The night started in spoons (obviously) where Joe started talking to someone he knew, I wasn’t informed at the time that this was his ex girlfriends uncle. If I had known this at the time, I would have taken every opportunity to make it as awkward as possible. Gutted, these are the chances you will never get twice. We digress...
My plan was, we would have a pint in each pub then move on, and see how much of Durham we could drink in. Moved on to The Angel, hellish pub, but didn’t stay any longer than we had to to finish the pint, even though there was a delightfully original band playing songs such as Sweet Child O Mine and Crazy Train, which I have never heard covered in a pub before... Pub count at 2 so far
Next to the Head of Steam for one of the most manky pints I have ever had the misfortune of tasting. In their defence, I did order carling, for what reason I couldn’t tell you, probably because I’m a cheap fucker. We also got raped by the quiz machine, seriously, if you have a music question on one of these things, do NOT turn to me for help. I may be a music student, and music fan, but that doesn’t mean I know who was married to the manager of Bucks Fizz. That pushes the pub count up to 3.
Where next but Fabios? It’s always Fabios, ALWAYS. However this is where Joe met his ‘stalker’ (to use his wording) from a couple of weeks earlier, she was a lovely lass, the only question is what she saw in that little dickhead. Two drinks in here so Joe could get to know his future wife and mother of his little gay children. Pub count at 4.
Next to Lloyds, which I always begrudge paying £3 into. It’s a Wetherspoons, stop being a divvy man! Two drinks and a shot of something that made my soul weep and forfeit, still not entirely sure what it was. Chilled in here a bit then sodded off in a truly legendary manner to truly legendary places. End of the pub crawl
This brought the final bro-tastic pub total to a pathetic 5. I’m pretty sure an 8 year old with no limbs could score better than that. Next time I’m heading for double figures, just you wait and see.

I still feel the hangover I am nursing at the moment was well earned though even though I didn’t drink too much. Aerosmith is curing this bad boy, got a twinkie that was brought back for me from America sat next to me staring me too, but it’s been on the side all night and I don’t know if it should have been in the fridge, so I think I’ll stay clear for fear of my insides exploding or my stomach sprouting a life form like that scene in Alien.

Hello to all of the new people I met last night too, you’re probably all dickheads, I’m not friends with nice people, it’s boring. Especially this bloke from Devon at the cashpoint who Joe was trying to get stuck into. What a dick, not in a good way.

So yeah, just a diary for the internet really. Next time I’m going to talk about something serious and thought provoking again don’t worry, but you’ll get this every now and then, and do you know why?

Because I’m awesome.

Gan canny everybody.

Stephen.

2 comments:

  1. Haha loved this post!

    I am going to message you on Facebook about Logic Pro actually. So aye! Glad you had a good night and that McBollock Dick! xxx

    ReplyDelete
  2. Haha danke! =)
    Was a canny good night like, considering it wasn't planned at all!
    xxx

    ReplyDelete