No seriously, I forgot I had a blog, had a fair bit going on and it slipped my mind. My apologies on the lack of me talking bollocks!
I've learned a few important life lessons over the last few weeks or so, which I would like to share with you if you would be so kind as to lend me your ears!
1. Being in a band is cooler than being a solo artist.
I have realised recently how much I've missed playing in a band, and more specifically, slapping da bass in a band! I'm sure most of you now know that I've joined the awesome Moonlight Valentino on bass duties, and it's going class. This is one of the things I've been busy with, we've had a few gigs recently, and also I've been writing a lot of new tunes for us, which you can expect to hear very soon! Go to http://www.facebook.com/MoonlightValentino to keep updated on everything!
2. EVERYTHING is better in the sun.
Leaving out the obvious exceptions such as skiing and building snowmen and shit, before someone starts getting all smart. The sun truly does make everything happy, Newcastle has been lush over the last few days, and I'm making the most out of every second. My gigs with college were on monday and tuesday, and the time that wasn't spent sound checking or actually playing, was spent sitting outside with a pint, and chillaxing! BRING ON THE SUMMER AND FESTIVAL SEASON! Ukulele weather if I have ever seen it.
3. I will always regret going out and not wearing a suit.
I've had a couple of cool nights out recently, but they were missing one very important thing; A SUIT! Seriously, is there any item of clothing that makes you feel as instantly awesome as you do when you put on a well tailored suit? In the words of Barney Stinson "Nothing suits me like a suit".
4. Grab every possible opportunity with both hands.
So there have been a few times in recent years I have passed on some opportunities and regretted it almost instantly. I recently read the book 'Yes Man' by Danny Wallace and it really did teach me that opportunity really is out there, you just need to be willing to let it into your life. For those of you who don't know, the book is about Danny Wallace, who decides to say 'yes' to every opportunity which presents itself. I don't want to spoil the book because I really do recommend you read it, it won't be everyones cup of tea, but it is rare that a book has the genuine ability to change someones life. Imagine what you want to do with your life, now do everything in your power to make it happen. If you are sitting around on your arse watching repeats of Jeremy Kyle, scratching your balls and then wondering why you never got anywhere, you only have yourself to blame. Get out there and do what it is you want to do! I could probably write a full blog post on this, and I might even do it at some time, but for now, I'll stop here.
So yeah, I'll try not to forget that I have a blog in future, and I'll keep posting as much as I can!
Gan canny!
Ste
Wednesday, 28 March 2012
Thursday, 8 March 2012
My thoughts on Kony 2012.
I figured I couldn't have a blog and not mention this which has been possibly the biggest, most widespread viral internet video/campaign I can remember.
Firstly, for those of you who haven't seen the video, here it is.
So, here we are, 30 minutes later, I assume you've now all seen the video. And surely none of you can deny that Joseph Kony is a very evil man indeed. Although, this being said, I must admit I hadn't even heard of the man before I was made aware of this video by a friend of mine.
There has been a lot of controversy surrounding this videos and the people behind it. "Invisible children" have come under fire about their finances, and I suppose it was only to be expected, anything growing in popularity at this rate is bound to be questioned.
Before I continue I recommend you all read this blog so you can better understand what I'm on about in this next bit.
Some of the points made are fair ones I agree, but the main thing I wanted to address about the blog is how much it underestimates the value of public awareness. I agree there is only so much one person can do, but this doesn't mean we shouldn't try. I'm a strong believe in the power of a community, when people come together, amazing things can happen.
Okay, that's pretty much all I wanted to say on the blog, the main point I have about this whole business is one of public awareness before the Kony 2012 video was released. As I said I had never heard of Joseph Kony or his crimes before I saw this video, and I felt slightly ashamed of myself. I mean, I know which 'celebrities' are getting married, or divorced, I know which toon players are injured at the moment, and I know which bands are playing when and where in my area, so why didn't I know about this? Then I realised, why would I know? It hasn't been massively documented in the way a lot of things are today, which is disgraceful.
I mean if I can buy the newspaper and see a story on the front page about John Terry or some other over payed tosser, why can't I see stories which are (in my opinion at least, and I am sure in yours too) of much greater importance with the same amount of ease?
This is just something to think about, I have no points to make other than that, let me know how you all feel about Kony 2012, do you support it? Are you against it? I want to know. Because I'm a nosey twat.
I mean if I can buy the newspaper and see a story on the front page about John Terry or some other over payed tosser, why can't I see stories which are (in my opinion at least, and I am sure in yours too) of much greater importance with the same amount of ease?
This is just something to think about, I have no points to make other than that, let me know how you all feel about Kony 2012, do you support it? Are you against it? I want to know. Because I'm a nosey twat.
Gan canny lads and lasses.
Stephen
Stephen
PS. I know I jump from point to point here, but I didn't want to spend too long dwelling on one particular thing. I just wanted to get my point across as simply as possible. So shut up.
Friday, 2 March 2012
Countdown to the Tyne/Wear derby.
Before you all start, I know I haven't posted in a while, no reason, I'm just a lazy git.
Thought I'd post about the main thing exciting me at the moment, and I would assume the main thing exciting any football fan in the area. The Tyne/Wear derby on sunday the 4th of March!
For people around the world (mainly silly Americans who insist on calling this beautiful sport played with a foot and a ball, soccer) who aren't familiar with the importance of this game allow me put it into perspective for you. Here are a few things I look forward to less than the Newcastle/Sunderland matches.
Thought I'd post about the main thing exciting me at the moment, and I would assume the main thing exciting any football fan in the area. The Tyne/Wear derby on sunday the 4th of March!
For people around the world (mainly silly Americans who insist on calling this beautiful sport played with a foot and a ball, soccer) who aren't familiar with the importance of this game allow me put it into perspective for you. Here are a few things I look forward to less than the Newcastle/Sunderland matches.
- Christmas
- The discovery of intelligent life on other planets
- Sex
I could go on, but I won't bore you any more. Just understand, I bloody love this game.
So yes, I am incredibly excited for sunday, as I always am. So I thought I'd let you know my predictions and what not, because I'm good like that. And yes, it will be biased, the mackems aren't going to win. Before I start though, I'm not a sports writer in ANY way shape or form, all of the information I have included comes from different sources round the internet and is in no way official or definitely true.
![]() |
| Shola the mackem slayer. |
Let's start with missing players, we're still missing Steven Taylor of course, who in my humble opinion is one of our top players, and has been greatly missed. Also, it's looking more and more likely we're going to be missing our in house mackem slayer Shola Ameobi, who is ill and has missed training, which will be a shame. Fingers crossed he'll pull through in time. But still, all of our players came back from international duty without any injuries, so we are pretty much at full strength!
Sunderland also have a pretty much full strength squad, with apparent doubts over Phil Bardsley, and Titus Bramble also unlikely to make an appearance. This will mean pretty much the same squad which suffered a 4-0 trouncing at West Brom last saturday are likely to walk out at St James' Park.
Notice I said st James' Park, not the Sports Direct Arena. More on this another day...
All in all, I think this could be the best derby game in years. Both teams are in similarly good form, with a very similar record over the last 6 games. This is a close one to call, but still, speaking as unbiased as I possibly can, I do think Newcastle United will edge it.
I'm predicting a 2-0 win for the magpies.
I'm predicting a 2-0 win for the magpies.
TOON TOON!
Gan canny lads and lasses, enjoy the match!
Stephen
Gan canny lads and lasses, enjoy the match!
Stephen
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

