I figured I couldn't have a blog and not mention this which has been possibly the biggest, most widespread viral internet video/campaign I can remember.
Firstly, for those of you who haven't seen the video, here it is.
So, here we are, 30 minutes later, I assume you've now all seen the video. And surely none of you can deny that Joseph Kony is a very evil man indeed. Although, this being said, I must admit I hadn't even heard of the man before I was made aware of this video by a friend of mine.
There has been a lot of controversy surrounding this videos and the people behind it. "Invisible children" have come under fire about their finances, and I suppose it was only to be expected, anything growing in popularity at this rate is bound to be questioned.
Before I continue I recommend you all read this blog so you can better understand what I'm on about in this next bit.
Some of the points made are fair ones I agree, but the main thing I wanted to address about the blog is how much it underestimates the value of public awareness. I agree there is only so much one person can do, but this doesn't mean we shouldn't try. I'm a strong believe in the power of a community, when people come together, amazing things can happen.
Okay, that's pretty much all I wanted to say on the blog, the main point I have about this whole business is one of public awareness before the Kony 2012 video was released. As I said I had never heard of Joseph Kony or his crimes before I saw this video, and I felt slightly ashamed of myself. I mean, I know which 'celebrities' are getting married, or divorced, I know which toon players are injured at the moment, and I know which bands are playing when and where in my area, so why didn't I know about this? Then I realised, why would I know? It hasn't been massively documented in the way a lot of things are today, which is disgraceful.
I mean if I can buy the newspaper and see a story on the front page about John Terry or some other over payed tosser, why can't I see stories which are (in my opinion at least, and I am sure in yours too) of much greater importance with the same amount of ease?
This is just something to think about, I have no points to make other than that, let me know how you all feel about Kony 2012, do you support it? Are you against it? I want to know. Because I'm a nosey twat.
I mean if I can buy the newspaper and see a story on the front page about John Terry or some other over payed tosser, why can't I see stories which are (in my opinion at least, and I am sure in yours too) of much greater importance with the same amount of ease?
This is just something to think about, I have no points to make other than that, let me know how you all feel about Kony 2012, do you support it? Are you against it? I want to know. Because I'm a nosey twat.
Gan canny lads and lasses.
Stephen
Stephen
PS. I know I jump from point to point here, but I didn't want to spend too long dwelling on one particular thing. I just wanted to get my point across as simply as possible. So shut up.
No comments:
Post a Comment