Monday, 31 December 2012

Happy new year!

Happy new year everybody!

Before you start reading this, you should know, this will NOT be one of those articles about how good or shit 2012 has been, and how much better 2013 will be. I've never been one for new years resolutions or anything like that, I've always felt that if something in your life is worth changing, why wait until the 1st of January to do so?

So with that in mind, let us continue!

2012 has had a lot in store for me. Some awesome times, some shit ones, just like every other year for every other person in the world really! I really do hope from the bottom of my heart that everybody reading this has had a good 2012 with minimal regrets and that you all have a great 2013.

But that being said, don't just expect the magic of new years eve to stroll in and fix your life up for you! Because it doesn't work like that, I think this is as good a time as any to remind people that anything you want has to be earned and worked hard for. So keep that in mind when moving through this next year!

So as I'm sure you have gathered, I will NOT be making a new years resolution. That doesn't mean I'm perfectly happy and everything's perfect, it just means I'm not going to be one of millions of people in the world trying to stop smoking or eat less chocolate, or go to the gym more. If there's a change I want making I'll make it on my own time!

I don't know what 2013 will be like for me, for all I know this time next year I could be married with a kid on the way! Or I could be stood on Northumberladn street selling big issues. And isn't that the fun of it all? Not knowing what's coming, not knowing wether a decision you're making is going to have a positive or negative impact on your life? Those are the moments which make us all feel alive, those brief moments of weakness, and helplessness. And that's how I'm living my life now, thriving off those situations and making the most of everything I have, because I really don't know how long they be around for.

But regardless of all that, have a great night tonight, and have a great 2013!

I'm now off to play my final gig of the year in my home town with people I grew up with.

Gan canny everybody!

Stephen

xxx

I'd also like to add that my entire set tonight will be dedicated to the memory of my great gran, Elsie Toon who sadly passed away this time 2 years ago. We'll never forget or stop loving you.


Monday, 16 July 2012

Idiots on Facebook.

Just a short one tonight/this morning.

Who are the walking advertisements for contraception who post things like "Like this if you wish cancer didn't exist" or "Like this is you love your children"? If your life is so dependant around gaining 'likes' on Facebook, you want to have a word with yourself.

Of course, like most people, I wish cancer didn't exist, and like most parents, I will always love my child, but in what way does clicking a button on some imbecile's photo or status, validate these claims?

Maybe I'm just making a fuss over nothing, maybe I'm being a miserable fucker, but the fact of the matter is, these are actual, human people. And for a being of the same species as people like Bob Marley, Albert Einstein and Martin Luther King, this is depressing.

Have we, as humans, genuinely come to point where everything we say, or feel needs to be validated by some moron wanting more attention than they deserve? If so, maybe it's time for us all to take a look at ourselves. I'm sure I'm not the only one who thinks like this, and I highly doubt I'm the only one making a point out of it, but I still felt it needed to be talked about.

I know they're not doing any real harm, but it's just stupid, and I refuse to accept that these people will be the forerunners of a generation of human beings. Can't we just knock that generation on the head and consider it a write off? Maybe try better at raising the next one? Probably not.

And now, I will step down from my soapbox, calm the fuck down, and go to sleep.

Apologies to anyone who posts such things, who may have been offended, but surprisingly enough, I don't care.

Gan canny.
Stephen

x

Monday, 28 May 2012

The new old me.

Don't ask how, but I woke up this morning with a smile on my face. And that smile hasn't gone anywhere.

I admit I could just still be drunk, judging the state I was in last night. (Apologies to my mackem friends who in the early hours of the morning received a call of me singing geordie boot boys.) However, this being said, I seem to be seeing the world through rose tinted glasses today. I don't know wether I'll wake up tomorrow and be my old miserable self, but I really hope not, because  TODAY, I am happy.

And why shouldn't I be? I live in a nice house, I have a loving family, good friends, a decent way of making money, and last but certainly not least, the most amazing little boy on the planet.

I just realised, I'm 21 years old living in one of my favourite places on earth (Not Willington, let's go with Durham) and I have it pretty good. So, for now, I feel like I'm the old Stephen again, looking at everything and seeing an opportunity, not a threat. Like I said, it's early days so I don't know if this is here to stay or will be gone tomorrow. But today is going to be a good day, I can feel it.

To all of my friends and family who supported me through thick and thin, thank you, and I love you all.

And Isaac, I love you more than anything on this earth, and I will spend my time on this earth trying to make you understand that. <3

Bye for now folks.

Gan Canny.

Stevie C luvin lyf 2k12 innit.

Monday, 21 May 2012

The wall.

There comes a time in every mans life, where he hits a wall. A wall which is such a challenge to climb, that it defines his entire being. Today, I hit that wall.

This, is my story. But in order for it to be successfully told, I feel the following music must be played while you are reading.


Yesterday I was practicing with my new(er) band Lost In Paradise (www.facebook.com/LostInParadiseUK) and today when we woke up we felt the best course of action would be to head to Durham for some food, having not eaten since the gargantuan McDonalds the night before. We didn't know it yet, but this was to be a huge mistake.

Think you could tackle this? Think again.
Every monday, the Slug and Lettuce in Durham city centre offers 50% off all food, so this was to be our destination. On a normal day, we would each order a steak and be happy, but today was to be no normal day. We each ordered a steak as usual, but we added two ultimate platters, which anyone familiar with the Slug and Lettuce's menu will understand to be of mammoth proportions. The food came and all was perfect, we felt confident, we felt strong, we felt legendary. If only we knew what we had gotten ourselves into.

Defeat. Painful defeat.
As you can see, there was a pretty large amount of food, however, we underestimated just how much.
It started well, we ate, we laughed, we ate some more. The first 3 quarters of the food was no challenge (for all but Joe, who is a pathetic excuse of a man) and we were almost certain we would be able to leave with our heads held high, employees and customers cheering and screaming our names, but it was not to be. We first started to doubt ourselves when we hit the 3 quarter mark, and it only got worse from there. To the left you can see the remnants of our challenge

One ring to rule them all.
In the end for me, it came down to one onion ring (right), taunting me and taunting me. No matter how much I tried to build up the courage to do so, I could not defeat it. It was proved a worthy opponent, and today, it has defeated me, and will enjoy its victory. But this is not over. Not by a long shot.

For shame.
After I left, I held on to only one slight consolation, at least I wasn't reduced to a smilar state as this broken shell of a man. Joe (left) was defeated by pretty much everything, and afterwards looked not only ill, but terminally so. Still, nothing a pint couldn't fix.

I end this tale with a lesson, though you may leave a battle bruised and tired, and in this case a fair bit heavier, never be afraid to return to a challenge. Just because something is challenging, it doesn't mean it isn't worth attempting, it just means it will feel a hell of a lot better when you finally succeed. And god help me, I will succeed.  Oh yes, I will succeed.


Until next time lads and lasses, gan canny!

(A battle scarred) Stephen

x

Friday, 18 May 2012

FREE! (Until september)

Well hello again.

I'm sorry I haven't been posting much, I've been frantically working to finish this year of uni. Finally handed everything in yesterday, which was a HUGE weight off my shoulders.

So yes ladies and gents I am a free man until september! This means I can finally start focussing on Work In Progress, quite ironically really considering my work is now finished. I thought I would post the track listing up here and give a bit of an update on what's going on. The tracks on the album will be;

  1. Heart Attack
  2. September
  3. City Life
  4. Dreamer
  5. 88mph
I understand this will mean absolutely NOTHING to the vast majority of you, but I think these are the 5 songs I am most happy with. Well, with the exception of Heart Attack, which may get replaced at some point. It's one of those songs you write, and are really excited about, until you listen to it back a few days later and you wonder what in gods name you were smoking to write such an abomination. Okay, I'm not that unhappy with it, but I will definitely be changing it quite a bit before I put the CD out there.

Now, about that update, All of the tracks (with the exception of the new version of Heart Attack) have been recorded and are sounding okay. BUT, I have come into some new recording equipment from my birthday so I'm considering recording a lot of it again, the sound quality will be a LOT better, and those of you know me know that I am a perfectionist with my music. Some of the songs will probably just be remastered as opposed to rerecorded, so it shouldn't take too long at all.

Once I've done all of this, and I am happy with it, it will be going up on iTunes, and everything like that. I'll also be printing a few copies to sell at my gigs. Then i'll give it a few months before I start recording a full album (you heard it here first). I'll be pulling in a band and writing some new songs, in addition to a few from Work in Progress which will be rearranged.

As always I'll keep you all up to date with what's happening, so keep your eyes peeled!

Gan canny lads and lasses!

Stephen

x

Wednesday, 4 April 2012

The future of evolution, courtesy of Ryan Gosling.

So apparently Ryan Gosling is just growing more and more awesome with every waking second.


A story just emerged that the irritatingly brilliant 'Drive' actor saved London journalist Laurie Penny from an oncoming taxi in America.

Clearly he needs to cross the atlantic to now make sure us British folk stand no chance of finding a girl.

I have therefore taken it upon myself to take a glimpse into the future, and where the human race will end up if Ryan Gosling continues to be awesome,

I will now explain this in 5 simple steps.



The future of evolution.

1. Ryan Gosling makes it so no other male stands a chance with any female.

2. Ryan Gosling impregnates every female in existence.

3. 80% of other males fail to find parters and eventually die out due to loneliness.

4. The offspring of Ryan Gosling eventually kills off the remaining species.

5. Humanity continues as a race of Ryan's and Rihanna's.


I think this is pretty accurate. So my message to Ryan gosling is simply this;

"If you care at all about the human race, you will
 limit your awesomeness for the sake of the rest of us"

Oh yeah, and...

"WHY CAN'T I HATE YOU!?"

That is all.

Gan canny!

Stephen.

Wednesday, 28 March 2012

Forgot I had a blog...

No seriously, I forgot I had a blog, had a fair bit going on and it slipped my mind. My apologies on the lack of me talking bollocks!

I've learned a few important life lessons over the last few weeks or so, which I would like to share with you if you would be so kind as to lend me your ears!

1. Being in a band is cooler than being a solo artist.

I have realised recently how much I've missed playing in a band, and more specifically, slapping da bass in a band! I'm sure most of you now know that I've joined the awesome Moonlight Valentino on bass duties, and it's going class. This is one of the things I've been busy with, we've had a few gigs recently, and also I've been writing a lot of new tunes for us, which you can expect to hear very soon! Go to http://www.facebook.com/MoonlightValentino to keep updated on everything!

2. EVERYTHING is better in the sun.


Leaving out the obvious exceptions such as skiing and building snowmen and shit, before someone starts getting all smart. The sun truly does make everything happy, Newcastle has been lush over the last few days, and I'm making the most out of every second. My gigs with college were on monday and tuesday, and the time that wasn't spent sound checking or actually playing, was spent sitting outside with a pint, and chillaxing! BRING ON THE SUMMER AND FESTIVAL SEASON! Ukulele weather if I have ever seen it.

3. I will always regret going out and not wearing a suit.


I've had a couple of cool nights out recently, but they were missing one very important thing; A SUIT! Seriously, is there any item of clothing that makes you feel as instantly awesome as you do when you put on a well tailored suit? In the words of Barney Stinson "Nothing suits me like a suit".

4. Grab every possible opportunity with both hands.


So there have been a few times in recent years I have passed on some opportunities and regretted it almost instantly. I recently read the book 'Yes Man' by Danny Wallace and it really did teach me that opportunity really is out there, you just need to be willing to let it into your life. For those of you who don't know, the book is about Danny Wallace, who decides to say 'yes' to every opportunity which presents itself. I don't want to spoil the book because I really do recommend you read it, it won't be everyones cup of tea, but it is rare that a book has the genuine ability to change someones life. Imagine what you want to do with your life, now do everything in your power to make it happen. If you are sitting around on your arse watching repeats of Jeremy Kyle, scratching your balls and then wondering why you never got anywhere, you only have yourself to blame. Get out there and do what it is you want to do! I could probably write a full blog post on this, and I might even do it at some time, but for now, I'll stop here.

So yeah, I'll try not to forget that I have a blog in future, and I'll keep posting as much as I can!

Gan canny!

Ste

Thursday, 8 March 2012

My thoughts on Kony 2012.

I figured I couldn't have a blog and not mention this which has been possibly the biggest, most widespread viral internet video/campaign I can remember.

Firstly, for those of you who haven't seen the video, here it is.


So, here we are, 30 minutes later, I assume you've now all seen the video. And surely none of you can deny that Joseph Kony is a very evil man indeed. Although, this being said, I must admit I hadn't even heard of the man before I was made aware of this video by a friend of mine.

There has been a lot of controversy surrounding this videos and the people behind it. "Invisible children" have come under fire about their finances, and I suppose it was only to be expected, anything growing in popularity at this rate is bound to be questioned.

Before I continue I recommend you all read this blog so you can better understand what I'm on about in this next bit.

Some of the points made are fair ones I agree, but the main thing I wanted to address about the blog is how much it underestimates the value of public awareness. I agree there is only so much one person can do, but this doesn't mean we shouldn't try. I'm a strong believe in the power of a community, when people come together, amazing things can happen.

Okay, that's pretty much all I wanted to say on the blog, the main point I have about this whole business is one of public awareness before the Kony 2012 video was released. As I said I had never heard of Joseph Kony or his crimes before I saw this video, and I felt slightly ashamed of myself. I mean, I know which 'celebrities' are getting married, or divorced, I know which toon players are injured at the moment, and I know which bands are playing when and where in my area, so why didn't I know about this? Then I realised, why would I know? It hasn't been massively documented in the way a lot of things are today, which is disgraceful.

I mean if I can buy the newspaper and see a story on the front page about John Terry or some other over payed tosser, why can't I see stories which are (in my opinion at least, and I am sure in yours too) of much greater importance with the same amount of ease?

This is just something to think about, I have no points to make other than that, let me know how you all feel about Kony 2012, do you support it? Are you against it? I want to know. Because I'm a nosey twat.

Gan canny lads and lasses.

Stephen

PS. I know I jump from point to point here, but I didn't want to spend too long dwelling on one particular thing. I just wanted to get my point across as simply as possible. So shut up.

Friday, 2 March 2012

Countdown to the Tyne/Wear derby.

Before you all start, I know I haven't posted in a while, no reason, I'm just a lazy git.

Thought I'd post about the main thing exciting me at the moment, and I would assume the main thing exciting any football fan in the area. The Tyne/Wear derby on sunday the 4th of March!

For people around the world (mainly silly Americans who insist on calling this beautiful sport played with a foot and a ball, soccer) who aren't familiar with the importance of this game allow me put it into perspective for you. Here are a few things I look forward to less than the Newcastle/Sunderland matches.

  • Christmas
  • The discovery of intelligent life on other planets
  • Sex
I could go on, but I won't bore you any more. Just understand, I bloody love this game.
This is how excited I actually am.
So yes, I am incredibly excited for sunday, as I always am. So I thought I'd let you know my predictions and what not, because I'm good like that. And yes, it will be biased, the mackems aren't going to win. Before I start though, I'm not a sports writer in ANY way shape or form, all of the information I have included comes from different sources round the internet and is in no way official or definitely true.

Shola the mackem slayer.
Let's start with missing players, we're still missing Steven Taylor of course, who in my humble opinion is one of our top players, and has been greatly missed. Also, it's looking more and more likely we're going to be missing our in house mackem slayer Shola Ameobi, who is ill and has missed training, which will be a shame. Fingers crossed he'll pull through in time. But still, all of our players came back from international duty without any injuries, so we are pretty much at full strength!

Sunderland also have a pretty much full strength squad, with apparent doubts over Phil Bardsley, and Titus Bramble also unlikely to make an appearance. This will mean pretty much the same squad which suffered a 4-0 trouncing at West Brom last saturday are likely to walk out at St James' Park.

Notice I said st James' Park, not the Sports Direct Arena. More on this another day...

All in all, I think this could be the best derby game in years. Both teams are in similarly good form, with a very similar record over the last 6 games. This is a close one to call, but still, speaking as unbiased as I possibly can, I do think Newcastle United will edge it.

I'm predicting a 2-0 win for the magpies. 

TOON TOON!

Gan canny lads and lasses, enjoy the match!

Stephen




Wednesday, 15 February 2012

Back to business.


Greetings earthlings!

I have 2 weeks off from college, and it’s a slow time for gigs at the moment, I had one last night for valentines day, and I have one on the 29th, and that’s it for February!
So I thought I would write a new blog, for no other reason that I can.

Firstly, I have a new video up on Youtube! This is from my gig in Twist bar in Newcastle last tuesday! Not the greatest quality, but the sound isn't too bad!



Yeah, it’s a Jay Z cover, your rules mean nothing to me. So yeah, go forth and watch it, and comment and/or like it if you’re on youtube! Also, if you could share it with your friends that would be awesome! Means a lot, cheers!

Now also, like I said I have a gig on the 29th of February, it’s in the Head of Steam in Newcastle, £3 in and there’s 5 or so acts on, well worth it. I hope to see as many of you there as possible! I might even let you buy me a pint, because I’m nice like that.

Right, that’s that out of the way. The EP is coming along nicely, finally sorted out a couple of the problems I’ve been having, going to record one more song, not sure which yet mind. There’s a few of my tracks I’ve been thinking of putting on, it’s just a matter of choosing which one, and I will hopefully have the CD finished by the time I go back to college. I might even have a few for sale at the Head of Steam gig, you never know!

Speaking of that, I’m not sure where to go to get the CD’s pressed and what not, if anyone knows anywhere that does a decent job at the lowest possible price (I am a student after all) please let me know! All I want is a cardboard sleeve like you get on the free shit CD’s you get in the Sun every now and then. I want it printed back and front and on the disc itself, so if you know of a good place please let me know!
Also, I’m thinking of doing a kind of mini tour when the EP is up for sale, hopefully in the summer. Not sure where I would go, how I would get there, and what I would do when I get there, but hey, it’s a start! Hopefully I’ll be doing a few festivals, I’m already booked for a few, but if there are any I’ve not contacted, if you could maybe put my name forward to the organisers that would be brilliant! I'll post up some more details on which festivals I'm playing in my next blog.

That’s pretty much it for my life at the moment, starting to feel a bit better about everything from my last couple of blogs since letting it out, for all those interested. I really can’t thank you all enough for all the support you have given me with that!
Gan canny folks!

Stephen.

Wednesday, 8 February 2012

Thank you

Okay, it's not been long since my last post, but I really want to post another short one.

I want to thank everyone from the bottom of my heart for all of the messages I have been sent. My Facebook, email, and phone inboxes have been buzzing. It's really nice of you to take time out to do something like that.

So even if I don't know you, thank you for offering your support, it's a difficult time, but I'm sure with people like you in my life I can get through it. I know it won't be easy, but I'm determined to do it.

Also, I know there was one bloke on the last blog kicking off, but don't all attack him. I know he's being a prat but he's entitled to his opinion, and who am I to sit here and write this stuff, and then ignore what people have to say about it, or disregard it? But I do appreciate all of your support on this matter.

I just wanted to post this to let you know that I love each and every one of you, from the bottom of my heart. I'm so lucky to have people like you around me.

Thank you.

Gan canny folks!

Stephen

PS. I'll start posting cheery/less miserable stuff again next time, don't worry.

Tuesday, 24 January 2012

The ramblings of an insomniac.

Hello fellow bloggerites, or bloggerions or whatever you want to be called,

This is a bit of a spur of the moment post, I'm lying in bed, which is apparently when my mind decides it's time to run wild and think about everything in the world. It's true I over-think things, so I thought I'd try writing down what I was thinking, while I was thinking it, and see what happens. Just for shits and giggles primarily.

I started off thinking about college, and  then wondered why the fuck I am there. A music degree, in my personal opinion, isn't worth the paper it's written on if you want to be a working musician and not a teacher. If I went into a bar asking for a gig there, they would ask for a CD, maybe an audition of some sort, and if I said "No, but you can have a copy of my BA certificate" they would most likely laugh in my face. The reason I want to study music, is to learn skills I can apply in every day life, and so far at Gateshead college, I have learned VERY little. I feel like Barcelona FC coming over to england to take on Willington FC, I'm being taught things I already know, and it's frustrating as shit.

So I thought to myself, what would I do if I wasn't in college? Maybe start my own company with little to no initial investment? Sign on to the dole because nowhere will give me a job? Up the ante on my gigs, and get sucked into the club singer route and end up dying an old man with a sparkly jacket and a fake tan, singing Sweet caroline for the Butlins masses? All of these ideas sound thick to me. But of course, this is all hypothetical.

Chances are I'll stay at Gateshead college, showing no enthusiasm for my work whatsoever, finish with a mediocre grade, and then end up taking one of the above routes anyway. Because let's face it, unless I hit it big and tour the world and what not, or become a wedding singer (shudder) I'm not going to make anywhere near enough money to support myself and my son. Maybe a change in career? But what? I can't do shit other than music. I could go work in a shop or something like that, but I feel like doing that is taking the easy route out and giving up on everything I have dreamed of... Platinum selling albums, selling out arena tours, Ryan Gosling playing me in the movie adaptation of my life. I really don't know what to do with myself, every idea opens so many new problems and opportunities.

The bottom line is it's a huge world out there, and the trick to succeeding is finding out exactly where you fit into it. Some people fit into the 9-5 role, some people fit into religion, some people fit into superstardom. And the only way I'm going to find out where I fit in this big fucked up world, is by having a look around it, maybe poking my head around some doors and asking questions.

Okay, so I've strayed away from my original thoughts pretty quickly, welcome to my mind. I over-think everything and when I get an idea as to where I want to go, I dismiss it and go back to square one. Who knows, maybe that's where I fit in? Maybe I'm destined to be that fat guy living in a council house, drinking cans of special brew in my overgrown garden and shouting at the neighbours kids. It's not what I want, but somebody has to fit there, don't they? Isn't society built on a ladder of classes? The council flat alcoholics leech off of the 9-5ers. The 9-5ers leech off of the business higher-ups. The business higher-ups leech off of the rich and famous. You get my point.

At the end of the day, I'm 20 years old, I (probably) have a lot of life left. And the question I have to ask myself is do I want to spend it surviving, or living?

So yeah, I hope you have enjoyed this tour of 5 minutes worth of thinking in my mind. Please be sure to take all personal belongings and exit to the left of the vehicle.

Gan canny lads and lasses.

(A very sleep deprived) Stephen.

PS. If you like this blog, please share it with your friends. Partly to inflate my ego, and partly so I can get a broader range of a opinions on everything. But mainly the ego thing.

Sunday, 22 January 2012

Work in Progress update, and a diary of a sick night.



Okay lads and lasses, I’m going to do one of those boring blogs I tend to ignore on the internet. You know the type? The one’s that are something like “Today I went to the shop and I bought a mars bar and I ate it and it was nice”. I’m going to talk a little bit a bout Work In Progress, and a little bit about last nights relatively tame awesomeness.

Work in Progress; a work in progress. Part 1.
I suppose this is the first real log of how the EP is going, and for a lot of you, the first time you will have heard in any detail some of the shit I’m putting up with from this recording.
Basically, I am low on money as any student is, so I can’t afford to purchase Logic pro, meaning I’m trying to struggle through garage band (sigh). I have managed to get each track sounding how I want them to, the main problem is arising when I’m actually bouncing the tracks into an audio file format. The volume differs so much between different MP3s it physically angers me to the point of shouting things at my guitar, because that’s obviously where the blame lies.
I have asked people for help on this matter and the biggest answer I got was to re-record the quiet tracks at a louder volume, however doing this has helped less than Gazza with a fishing rod and a KFC bargain bucket.
I’m starting to think that recording in Garage Band is only ever going to end in tears, and that I might unfortunately have to postpone the EP release. I’ll keep you posted on any more details as they come to me.

A relatively sick night, bitches.
So last night, I decided to use my first saturday night off in a while productively, and go to the pub. After the ravaging Newcastle took at the hands of Fulham I think I needed a pint.
As always I asked a few of my mates to come out, and as always it ended up being me and Joe (who I’m sure will crop up in this blog several times).
The night started in spoons (obviously) where Joe started talking to someone he knew, I wasn’t informed at the time that this was his ex girlfriends uncle. If I had known this at the time, I would have taken every opportunity to make it as awkward as possible. Gutted, these are the chances you will never get twice. We digress...
My plan was, we would have a pint in each pub then move on, and see how much of Durham we could drink in. Moved on to The Angel, hellish pub, but didn’t stay any longer than we had to to finish the pint, even though there was a delightfully original band playing songs such as Sweet Child O Mine and Crazy Train, which I have never heard covered in a pub before... Pub count at 2 so far
Next to the Head of Steam for one of the most manky pints I have ever had the misfortune of tasting. In their defence, I did order carling, for what reason I couldn’t tell you, probably because I’m a cheap fucker. We also got raped by the quiz machine, seriously, if you have a music question on one of these things, do NOT turn to me for help. I may be a music student, and music fan, but that doesn’t mean I know who was married to the manager of Bucks Fizz. That pushes the pub count up to 3.
Where next but Fabios? It’s always Fabios, ALWAYS. However this is where Joe met his ‘stalker’ (to use his wording) from a couple of weeks earlier, she was a lovely lass, the only question is what she saw in that little dickhead. Two drinks in here so Joe could get to know his future wife and mother of his little gay children. Pub count at 4.
Next to Lloyds, which I always begrudge paying £3 into. It’s a Wetherspoons, stop being a divvy man! Two drinks and a shot of something that made my soul weep and forfeit, still not entirely sure what it was. Chilled in here a bit then sodded off in a truly legendary manner to truly legendary places. End of the pub crawl
This brought the final bro-tastic pub total to a pathetic 5. I’m pretty sure an 8 year old with no limbs could score better than that. Next time I’m heading for double figures, just you wait and see.

I still feel the hangover I am nursing at the moment was well earned though even though I didn’t drink too much. Aerosmith is curing this bad boy, got a twinkie that was brought back for me from America sat next to me staring me too, but it’s been on the side all night and I don’t know if it should have been in the fridge, so I think I’ll stay clear for fear of my insides exploding or my stomach sprouting a life form like that scene in Alien.

Hello to all of the new people I met last night too, you’re probably all dickheads, I’m not friends with nice people, it’s boring. Especially this bloke from Devon at the cashpoint who Joe was trying to get stuck into. What a dick, not in a good way.

So yeah, just a diary for the internet really. Next time I’m going to talk about something serious and thought provoking again don’t worry, but you’ll get this every now and then, and do you know why?

Because I’m awesome.

Gan canny everybody.

Stephen.

Friday, 20 January 2012

5 little facts about musicians.


Why hello there,
I suppose this is my first ‘proper’ blog post, doesn’t that give you a warm tingly feeling inside? You’re reading a part of history, you’re welcome.
I thought I would start by dispelling a lot of myths about singer songwriters, and musicians in general which have been created by films, the media, and that phrase ‘overnight success’, that’s bollocks.

1. We don’t get all the girls.
This is probably the oldest stereotype in the book, and unless there is just something inherently unattractive about my performances, I find it to be almost 100% bullshit.
Let’s create a situation for any ladies reading;
You are sat in a bar with your friends. A guy walks up to you with sweat dripping down his face, making his hair look like something a cat spat up in the process. This guy proceeds to sing Enrique Iglesias’ Hero to you with an undeniably good voice. Would the power of his beautiful voice be enough to make you look past the sweaty mess which is the rest of his person? The answer is most likely no, if the answer is yes, then by all means, give me a call.

Also, I can't speak from a girls point of view here, because of my distinct lack of a vagina and breasts.

2. We don’t appreciate being payed with beer.
Okay, don’t get me wrong, I love a nice pint just as much (if not more) than the next guy, but you wouldn’t see this as acceptable in any other profession. Let’s say you’re a car salesman (or woman) and you sell a shit load of motors one month, you would expect a decent paycheque right? You would not be happy if your boss said something like “You’re fine with being payed with a few bottles right?”. No, you would stand up and say “SHUT YOUR SHIT!”, admittedly maybe not in those exact words but you see my point. Any bar owners/landlords out there thinking it’s okay to pay musicians with alcohol, have a word with yourself, give your head a wobble and give them a decent amount of pay, it’s not   easy work. Which brings me nicely onto my next point.

3. For a lot of us, this IS our real job.
If I had a quid for every time I heard someone say “You should get a proper job” I would ironically never have to work again. Just because you see musicians on the telly making millions from touring, or putting out a new album every couple of years, doesn’t mean we all live like that. For the vast majority of us, it’s playing gigs every weekend for 2 hours a night, plus set up and pack down times, plus driving time, plus time spent booking gigs, plus time spent preparing our set lists and practicing them to perfection. I could go on but I’m sure you get it. Let’s take me for example; I make on average about £120 per covers gig which consists of two 45 minute sets either side of a 15 minute break. I know this sounds brilliant, but first consider this; £20 can be taken off straight away for petrol money, sometimes more depending on the distance. Also there is occasionally money to be subtracted to go to a promoter, which is normally about 20% (if you’re lucky and find a promoter who won’t rob you blind). Now, like I said I play two 45 minute sets with a 15 minute break, then let’s add on 30 minutes to set up/take down all of my PA system, an average hour and a half driving for the whole night, and also however much time is spent booking the gig. This works out around 4-5 hours, which gives me about £20 an hour (if we aren’t counting all of the time spent learning a setlist and keeping it up to date, also any extra playing time for an encore). Still sounds good right? But you have to remember this isn’t a consistent paycheque, gigs come and go when they please, I can often go weeks without a gig and make no money.
So I know on the surface it seems like easy work, but it’s very tiring, and yes we do it for our love of music, but we also do it for our love of food, shelter, and others things which require money. I’m extremely fortunate in that I have my dad to help me out with booking gigs and things such as that, but a lot of musicians don’t have that kind of support, so the next time you think about telling one of us to get a proper job, think about all of the work that goes into what we do.

Wow, that one got quite wordy...

4. We don’t all want to go on the bloody X Factor.
I must get this at every gig I play. Someone will come up to me and say something like “You’re really good, you should try for the X Factor.” or “Have you ever thought of going on Britain’s Got Talent?”. Now I’d be a liar if I were to say I hadn’t considered it, and I actually went as far as to audition for a TV talent show on Sky one called Must be the music, however I didn’t get past the first audition stage. I really do think everybody interested in a career in music should at least consider this route, it isn’t for everybody, but there are people it will work for, and you would be a fool to overlook it by sitting up on your high horse and saying it’s destroying the music industry. I must admit, this isn’t the route for me, I tried it once and it didn’t feel natural even when I was sat in the waiting room. But if it is something you want to do, go ahead and do it, it’s your life. Just don’t come up to me in a pub and tell me to do it, because I WILL tell you to shut up.

5. There is no quick route to success.
Myspace. Youtube. X Factor. The media have pushed the idea that people have become overnight successes using these things. With the possible exception of The X Factor, this is pretty much complete rubbish. I have been on myspace and youtube for years now and I get little to no interest in my songs/videos. I would love to know how people get millions of video hits, but the most I seem to manage is a couple thousand if I’m extremely lucky. Most of the time I barely hit 100. It’s a common misjudgement when people say the internet has made it easier for musicians, or any other form of artist to be recognised. Unless you’re gimmicky like Justin Bieber for being so young, (I may post a seperate blog about this little div at some point.) you don’t really have much of a chance. In my opinion it has made it a lot harder, there are now millions of other people to compete with, and people are very set in their ways a lot of the time. For instance, if someone finds a band they like on youtube, they may keep listening to that band for quite a while, making it more difficult for other artists to even get a look in. This is just my opinion and I’m sure some people will disagree, and I would love to hear all of your opinions on this.

So yeah, that’s all for now, I may add a couple more to this list at some point, but for now I’ll leave it at five. I have an obsession with multiples of five, so if I got to 7 or 8, I would probably have to get ride of any above 5, just thought you should know.

I’ll be back soon to deliver more ramblings to your interwebs.

Gan canny.

Stephen.

Welcome to my sexy new born blog.

Hello,
I'm Stephen Wilson, I'm a singer songwriter living and working in County Durham in north east England.
I thought I would start a blog as  I have a lot to say, and sometimes 140 characters just isn't enough.
Basically, this first post will just be me introducing myself and trying to get used to the whole blogging thing.

Here comes the big stupid list of things I am/have/do...

So yeah, I'm 20 years old living in a town(/shithole) called Willington. I have a 2 year old son named Isaac Joseph Towers who I'm sure will feature in these posts from time to time, as I love him more than life itself. I am a musician, (if you couldn't guess that from the title of this blog then please leave now) I'm studying music at Gateshead College/Northumbria University and I sing, play guitar, bass, ukulele, and have recently taken up mandolin. I'm recording my debut solo EP which will be called work in progress and you can see the cover art from it to the left of this text. I'm also a huge movie buff, I've lost count of how many DVD's I own, and yes, I have watched them all. Last but not least, I am a football fanatic (soccer for you americans who decided to adopt football as a name for your sport which uses mainly hands) and I support Newcastle United Football Club, and always have. Coming for Europe! TOON TOON!

Now, for the important bit; what you can expect to hear me ramble on about in a blog.

I'll let you all know how frustrating it truly is being an artist and trying to get your work recognised by anybody who isn't related to you. I'll try and offer any advice where I can, and I would gladly take some advice if you have any to give.
I'll probably let you know any good and bad experiences I have while at a gig, and I'll keep you all up to date on the creation of the EP, which is proving much more problematic that I originally thought!
Occasionally, I'll talk about films, my crazy nights out, sports, or maybe just life in general (which is also proving to be much more problematic that I originally thought.).

Okay, this was only meant to be a short post, and it's gotten a bit wordy so I'll sod off for now. But I'll be back shortly to explain more of my inner workings!

Until then, gan canny!

That means take care for all of you not familiar with the geordie dialect...

Stephen.